Picture of Dr. Jagannathan Sarangapani

Dr. Jag Sarangapani

William A. Rutledge - Emerson Electric Company Distinguished Professor

Electrical Engineering


Jag Sarangapani is a Curators’ Distinguished Professor and Rutledge-Emerson Chair at the Missouri University of Science and Technology, Rolla, MO, USA. He was the Site Director for the graduated NSF Industry/University Cooperative Research Center on Intelligent Maintenance Systems for 13 years and an Interim Director for Intelligent Systems Center. He also has a courtesy appointment with the Department of Computer Science. He has co-authored 195 peer-reviewed journal articles, around 300 refereed IEEE conference articles, several book chapters, and co-authored five books and two edited books. He holds 21 patents, one defense publication, with several pending. He has supervised the completion of over 33 doctoral students and 31 M.S. thesis students. His research funding is in excess of $20 million dollars (his shared credit over $11 million) from NSF, NASA, AFOSR, ARO, ONR, AFRL, Boeing, Honeywell, Sandia and from other companies. His current research interests include learning, adaptation, decision making and control, networked control systems/cyber physical systems, prognostics/bigdata, and autonomous systems/robotics with healthcare applications.  He served/serving on various editorial boards and as a co-editor for the IET Book series on Control.

Selected Publications 

  • Charles Rawlins, S. Jagannathan, and Sid Nadendla, “A reputation system for provably-robust decision-making in IoT blockchain networks”, IEEE Internet of Things Journal, accepted for publication, December 2023.
  • Charles Rawlins and S. Jagannathan, “Predicting IoT distributed ledger fraud transactions with a lightweight GAN network”, IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing, accepted for publication, November 2023
  • Irfan Ganie* and S. Jagannathan, “Lifelong learning-based multilayer neural network control of nonlinear continuous-time strict-feedback systems”, International Journal of Robust and Nonlinear Control, accepted for publication, Sept. 2023.
  • Irfan Ganie* and S. Jagannathan, “Lifelong deep learning-based control of robot manipulators”, International Journal of Adaptive Control and Signal Processing, accepted for publication, August 2023.
  • Farzanegan*, R. Moghadam*, S. Jagannathan, and N. Pappa, “Optimal adaptive tracking control of partially uncertain nonlinear discrete-time systems using lifelong hybrid learning”, IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks and Learning Systems, accepted for publication, July 2023.

    Books (edited) Published.

    • S. Jagannathan, V. Narayanan and A. Sahoo, “Event-triggered control using Adaptive Dynamic Programming”, CRC Press, in Press 2024.
    • S. Jagannathan, A. Sahoo and V. Narayanan “Optimal Event Triggered Control Using Adaptive Dynamic Programming”, CRC Press, expected 2024.

    Book Chapter(s)

    • Rohollah Moghadam, V, Narayanan, S. Jagannathan, and Krishnan Raghavan, “Optimal adaptive control of uncertain linear systems with time-delay”, Springer, in Handbook of Reinforcement Learning and Control, Editors: K.G. Vomvoudakis, Y. Wan, F. Lewis and D. Canseer, 2021.


    • Al Salour, D. Trimble, J. Sarangapani, and E. Taqieddin, "Ultra-lightweight Mutual Authentication Protocol with Substitution Operation”, US Patent No. 10198605, February 5, 2019. (jointly with Boeing, St Louis)

    Recent Grants (active)

    • Deep Neural Network Control, PI, ONR, 2021-2025.
    • Deep Learning-based leader-follower robot formation, ARO, 2021-2024.
    • UAV Leader-follower formation Control, ARO, 2022-2024.
    • A Heterogeneous test bed for secure cyber-physical system research, DURIP, 2023-2024.
    • Planning Grant: Engineering Research Center for Integrative Manufacturing and Remanufacturing Technologies (iMart) to Spur Rural Development, Co-PI, NSF, 2019-2024.

    Selected Honors and Awards

    • 2023 University of Missouri Curators’ Distinguished Professor.
    • 2021 University of Missouri Presidential Award for Sustained Excellence-STEM.
    • 2020 Best Associate Editor Award, IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics-Systems.
    • 2018 IEEE Control System Society’s Transition to Practice Award.
    • 2018 Fellow, National Academy of Inventors.
    • 2016 Fellow of the IEEE.
    • 2015 Fellow of the IET (UK).
    • 2014 Fellow of the Inst. Of Measurement & Control (UK).
    • 2005 Teaching Commendation Award.
    • Commended for Teaching Excellence in 2006-2007, 2012-2013, 2013-2014.
    • Outstanding Teaching Award 2014-2015, 2015-2016, 2017-2018.
    • Faculty Excellence Award 2005-2006, 2006-2007.
    • 2007 Boeing Pride Achievement Award.
    • 2001 University of Texas Presidential Award for Excellence (early career).
    • 2001 Caterpillar Research Excellence Award.
    • 2000 NSF Career Award.


    Research Interests:

    Learning, adaptation and control, neural networks, secure cyber-physical-human systems, big data prognostics, robotics/autonomous systems.



    Personal Website:


    • Ph.D. University of Texas, Arlington, Texas
    • MS. University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Canada
    • BE. Anna University, Chennai, India